27 Teams In 27 Days: Meet The Oklahoma City Blue

By Jake Winderman | September 5, 2018

Team: Oklahoma City Blue

First Season: 2001-2002 (Asheville Altitude)

Affiliate: Oklahoma City Thunder

Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Arena: Cox Convention Center

Head Coach: Mark Daigneault

Former Franchise Names: Asheville Altitude (2001-2005), Tulsa 66ers (2005-2014)

2017-2018 Finish: 28-22 (1st in Midwest), Lost in 1st Round of Western Conference Playoffs

2018 NBA G League 1st Round Pick(s): 19th

Current Two-Way Players: Deonte Burton (Iowa State) and Tyler Davis (Texas A&M)

Notable Alumni: Dakari Johnson, Xavier Henry, Alex Caruso, Daniel Hamilton, Semaj Christon, Cameron Payne, Josh Huestis, Shaun Livingston

The Oklahoma City Blue are one of three original NBA G League franchises to remain in the league today along with the Austin Spurs (originally the Columbus Riverdragons) and Canton Charge (Huntsville Flight). The Blue started as the Asheville Altitude, playing their games at the Asheville Civic Center in North Carolina. While the team missed the postseason in their first two years, they won back-to-back championships between the 2003-2004 and 2004-2005 seasons. The Altitude (Blue) remain the only team in NBA G League history to repeat as back-to-back champions.

After their second title, the Altitude moved from Asheville to Tulsa, Oklahoma, where they remained from 2005 to 2014. The team was named the 66ers after U.S. Route 66, which runs through Oklahoma and Tulsa. Historically, the 66ers have held affiliations with seven different NBA teams — the Chicago Bulls (2005-2006), Indiana Pacers (2005-2006), Milwaukee Bucks (2005-2008), New Orleans Hornets (2005-2007), New York Knicks (2006-2008), Dallas Mavericks (2007-2008) and Oklahoma City Thunder (2008-present).

In 2008, the Oklahoma City Thunder purchased the Tulsa 66ers, making them the third franchise in NBA G League history to be owned by a single-affiliate NBA team. The 66ers made the postseason in four of their nine seasons in Tulsa, qualifying for the NBA G League Finals in 2010.

In 2014, the Thunder announced that the 66ers would be moving to Oklahoma City and rebranding as the Oklahoma City Blue. Since moving to Oklahoma, the Blue have made the postseason in three of the last four seasons, reaching the Western Conference Finals in 2017. During the 2017-2018 season, the Blue had two NBA Call-Ups in Myke Henry and Markel Brown, both of whom signed two-way contracts.

Related articles

Download The G League Mobile App

Get extensive video coverage including highlights, interviews and behind-the-scenes access.