27 Teams In 27 Days: Meet The Salt Lake City Stars

By Jake Winderman | September 6, 2018

Team: Salt Lake City Stars

First Season: 1997-1998 (CBA/Idaho Stampede)/2006-2007 (NBA G League/Idaho Stampede)

Affiliate: Utah Jazz

Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

Arena: Lifetime Activities Center-Bruin Arena/Vivint Smart Home Arena

Head Coach: Martin Schiller

Former Franchise Names: Idaho Stampede (1997-2016)

Mascot: Buster Bear

2017-2018 Finish: 16-34 (4th in Southwest)

2017-2018 Accolades: Georges Niang (All-NBA G League First Team)

2018 NBA G League 1st Round Pick(s): 1st

Current Two-Way Players: Naz Mitrou-Long (Iowa State) and Tyler Cavanaugh (George Washington)

Notable Alumni: Rafer Alston, Georges Niang, Patty Mills, Antoine Walker, Mike Taylor, Spud Webb, C.J. Miles, Luke Babbitt, C.J. McCollum, Allen Crabbe, John Jenkins, Ian Clark, Tyus Jones, Damon Jones, Justin Holliday, Jeff Ayers, Phil Pressey

The Salt Lake City Stars entered the NBA G League during the 2006-2007 season after playing in the Continental Basketball Association for 8 seasons as the Idaho Stampede. The Stampede kept their name when they entered the G League, sticking with the moniker until 2016.

In their first season in the NBA G League, the Stampede made it to the playoffs, losing in the Western Conference Semifinals to the Colorado 14ers. The next year, the Stampede won the 2008 NBA G League finals in their second season in the association, taking down the Austin Toros two games to one. The Stampede made the postseason in each of their first three seasons in the NBA G League.

The Stars’ organization has held five different affiliations throughout the course of their franchise. The team was affiliated with the Seattle SuperSonics from 2006-2008, the Portland Trail Blazers from 2007-2014, the Toronto Raptors from 2008-2009, the Denver Nuggets from 2009-2012 and the Utah Jazz from 2006-2007, 2011-2012 and now 2014 to the present.

In March of 2015, the Utah Jazz officially purchased the Idaho Stampede franchise, becoming the 8th NBA team to fully own and operate an NBA G League franchise. The team was renamed the Stars to pay tribute to the American Basketball Association’s Utah Stars, who played in the ABA from 1970 until 1976, winning the title in 1971. The nickname also honors the WNBA’s Utah Starzz, who played in Salt Lake City from 1997-2002.

The Stars’ franchise has earned numerous individual accolades including one NBA G League MVP (Randy Livingston-2007), two NBA G League Defensive Players of the Year in Mouhamed Sene (2008) and Brent Petway (2009), one NBA G League Most Improved Player in Mildon Ambres (2010) and have had 6 players named to All-NBA G League Teams including Randy Livingston (First Team), Lance Allred (Second and Third Team), Justin Holiday (Third Team), Kevin Murphy (First Team), Jerrelle Benimon (First Team) and Georges Niang (First Team).

Related articles

Download The G League Mobile App

Get extensive video coverage including highlights, interviews and behind-the-scenes access.