28 Teams In 28 Days: Meet The Maine Red Claws

By Jake Winderman | September 3, 2018

Team: Maine Red Claws

First Season: 2009-2010

Affiliate: Boston Celtics

Location: Portland, Maine

Arena: Portland Exposition Building

Head Coach: Darren Erman

Mascot: Crusher

2018-2019 Finish: 19-31 (5th in Atlantic Division)

2018-2019 Accolades: PJ Dozier (All-NBA G League 3rd Team)

2018-19 NBA Call-Ups: Justin Bibbs (to Clippers on 10-Day Contract)

Current Two-Way Players: Max Strus (DePaul) and Tremont Waters (LSU)

Notable Alumni: Vander Blue, Avery Bradley, MarShon Brooks, Ricky Davis, Tim Frazier, R.J. Hunter, Demetrius Jackson, Kris Joseph, Shelvin Mack, Rodney McGruder, Abdel Nader, Dwight Powell, Terry Rozier, Marcus Smart, Robert Williams III, PJ Dozier, Guerschon Yabusele, Brad Wanamaker

The Maine Red Claws entered the NBA G League during the 2009-2010 season in Portland, Maine, where they remain today. In April of 2009, fans were given the option to vote between Red Claws, Beacons, Swarm, Crushers, Destroyers and Traps as the nickname of their new G League franchise. The fans ultimately chose the name Red Claws and have kept the name ever since. “Claws” pays tribute to Maine’s ever-present lobster fishing industry, while “Red” honors the late, great former Boston Celtics coach Red Auerbach.

In their first season in the NBA G League, the Red Claws sold out all 24 of their home games in Portland. Despite finishing with a 27-23 record, the Red Claws failed to make the postseason. Despite this, former general manager/president Jon Jennings earned the inaugural NBA G League Team Executive of the Year Award.

Maine first qualified for the postseason in their fourth year, garnering a 26-24 record during the 2012-2013 season. Since then, the Red Claws have made the playoffs in three of their last five seasons, winning their first playoff series in 2017 against the Fort Wayne Mad Ants. In their franchise history, the Red Claws have had 10 players named to All-NBA G League teams including DeShawn Sims (3rd Team), Morris Almond (3rd Team), DaJuan Summers (3rd Team), Chris Wright (2nd/3rd Team), Chris Babb (2nd Team), Tim Frazier (1st Team), Coty Clarke (2nd Team), Marcus Georges-Hunt (3rd Team), Abdel Nader (2nd Team) and Jalen Jones (3rd Team).

Maine has had 3 NBA G League Rookie of the Year award winners, 2 NBA G League Most Improved Player award winners and 1 NBA G League MVP award winner in team history. Tim Frazier took home the MVP trophy following the 2014-2015 season, Kenny Hayes (2011-2012) and Frank Gaines (2013-2014) won the M.I.P award, while DeShawn Sims (2010-2011), Tim Frazier (2014-2015) and Abdel Nader (2016-2017) all took home Rookie of the Year trophies.

Related articles