28 Teams In 28 Days: Meet The Oklahoma City Blue

By Jake Winderman | September 5, 2018

Team: Oklahoma City Blue

First Season: 2001-2002 (Asheville Altitude)

Affiliate: Oklahoma City Thunder

Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Arena: Cox Convention Center

Head Coach: Grant Gibbs

Former Franchise Names: Asheville Altitude (2001-2005), Tulsa 66ers (2005-2014)

2018-2019 Finish: 34-16 (1st in Midwest), Lost in Western Conference Semifinals

2018-19 NBA Call-Ups: Donte Grantham (to Oklahoma City on Two-Way Contract), Scotty Hopson (to Oklahoma City on 10-Day Contract), Richard Solomon (to Oklahoma City on 10-Day Contract)

Current Two-Way Players: Luguentz Dort (Arizona State) and Devon Hall (Virginia)

Notable Alumni: Hamidou Diallo, Abdel Nader, Dakari Johnson, Xavier Henry, Alex Caruso, Daniel Hamilton, Semaj Christon, Cameron Payne, Josh Huestis, Shaun Livingston, Deonte Burton, Donte Grantham, Tyler Davis

The Oklahoma City Blue are one of three original NBA G League franchises to remain in the league today along with the Austin Spurs (originally the Columbus Riverdragons) and Canton Charge (Huntsville Flight). The Blue started as the Asheville Altitude, playing their games at the Asheville Civic Center in North Carolina. While the team missed the postseason in their first two years, they won back-to-back championships between the 2003-2004 and 2004-2005 seasons. The Altitude (Blue) remain the only team in NBA G League history to repeat as back-to-back champions.

After their second title, the Altitude moved from Asheville to Tulsa, Oklahoma, where they remained from 2005 to 2014. The team was named the 66ers after U.S. Route 66, which runs through Oklahoma and Tulsa. Historically, the 66ers have held affiliations with seven different NBA teams — the Chicago Bulls (2005-2006), Indiana Pacers (2005-2006), Milwaukee Bucks (2005-2008), New Orleans Hornets (2005-2007), New York Knicks (2006-2008), Dallas Mavericks (2007-2008) and Oklahoma City Thunder (2008-present).

In 2008, the Oklahoma City Thunder purchased the Tulsa 66ers, making them the third franchise in NBA G League history to be owned by a single-affiliate NBA team. The 66ers made the postseason in four of their nine seasons in Tulsa, qualifying for the NBA G League Finals in 2010.

In 2014, the Thunder announced that the 66ers would be moving to Oklahoma City and rebranding as the Oklahoma City Blue. Since moving to Oklahoma, the Blue have made the postseason in three of the last four seasons, reaching the Western Conference Finals in 2017. During the 2017-2018 season, the Blue had two NBA Call-Ups in Myke Henry and Markel Brown, both of whom signed two-way contracts.

In their most recent campaign, the Oklahoma City Blue reached the Western Conference Semifinals before falling to the Santa Cruz Warriors. The Blue tied their franchise-record with 34 regular season wins and won the Midwest division for the second straight season.

Related articles