Agua Caliente Clippers’ Angel Delgado Named 2018-19 NBA G League Rookie of the Year

Official Release | March 30, 2019

Agua Caliente Clippers center Angel Delgado has been named the 2018-19 NBA G League Rookie of the Year.  The award, voted on by the league’s 27 head coaches and general managers, recognizes the first-year professional who most significantly contributed to his team’s success during the season.

Delgado (6-10, 240, Seton Hall) a two-way player with the LA Clippers, averaged 18.5 points and an NBA G League-high 14.8 rebounds in 44 games for Agua Caliente.  The 24-year-old registered six games with at least 20 points and 20 rebounds, highlighted by a 40-point, 20-rebound performance in a 120-107 win over the Northern Arizona Suns on March 12.  He also set the NBA G League record for rebounds in a game with 31 in a 112-94 victory against the Oklahoma City Blue on Jan. 4.

The LA Clippers signed Delgado to a two-way contract last June after he averaged 13.6 points and 11.8 rebounds as a senior at Seton Hall in the 2017-18 season.  He has appeared in two games with the NBA’s Clippers this season.

The Dominican Republic native is the second international player to be selected as the NBA G League Rookie of the Year.  Abdel Nader (Egypt) earned the honor in the 2016-17 season while playing with the Maine Red Claws.

Delgado will be presented with the NBA G League Rookie of the Year Award today before the LA Clippers host the Cleveland Cavaliers at Staples Center.

Long Island Nets guard-forward Theo Pinson and Sioux Falls Skyforce forward Yante Maten finished second and third, respectively, in Rookie of the Year voting.


NBA G League Rookie of the Year Winners

2018-19: Angel Delgado, Aqua Caliente Clippers

2017-18: Antonio Blakeney, Windy City Bulls

2016-17: Abdel Nader, Maine Red Claws

2015-16: Quinn Cook, Canton Charge

2014-15: Tim Frazier, Maine Red Claws

2013-14: Robert Covington, Rio Grande Valley Vipers

2012-13: Tony Mitchell, Fort Wayne Mad Ants

2011-12: Edwin Ubiles, Dakota Wizards

2010-11: DeShawn Sims, Maine Red Claws

2009-10: Alonzo Gee, Austin Toros

2008-09: Othyus Jeffers, Iowa Energy

2007-08: Blake Ahearn, Dakota Wizards

2006-07: Louis Amundson, Colorado 14ers

2005-06: Will Bynum, Roanoke Dazzle

2004-05: James Thomas, Roanoke Dazzle

2003-04: Desmond Penigar, Asheville Altitude

2002-03: Devin Brown, Fayetteville Patriots

2001-02: Fred House, Charleston Lowgators

Related articles