Austin Spurs’ Tim Salier Named NBA Development League Executive of the Year

Official Release | May 20, 2015

NEW YORK, May 20, 2015 – Tim Sailer, Spurs Sports & Entertainment Vice President of Franchise Business Operations, was named the 2015 NBA Development League Team Executive of the Year today. NBA D-League President Malcolm Turner made the announcement at the league’s Sales & Marketing Meetings in Austin. The NBA Development League Team Executive of the Year is determined by peer voting and teams are not allowed to vote for themselves.

2014-15 Awards: See the Full List of this Season’s Award Winners

“We are very pleased to honor Tim with the Team Executive of the Year Award in recognition of his tremendous contributions to the NBA D-League, the NBA and the Austin community,” said Turner. “Under Tim’s leadership, the Austin Spurs have become a prime example of a how an NBA D-League team should be run to both benefit its NBA parent club and be independently successful.”

To forge a greater bond between Austin and its NBA affiliate – the five-time NBA champion San Antonio Spurs – Sailer oversaw the Austin’s adoption of San Antonio’s team name after being called the Toros the previous nine seasons.

Sailer’s impact was felt in the local business community by negotiating the team’s first marquee jersey partnership with Texas Descon, a commercial construction management and general contracting company based in South Texas. This multi-platform partnership also included Texas Descon’s sponsorship of “Under the Boards,” a farm report on the Austin Spurs roster that appeared as a regular segment on the Spurs Insider Show on Fox Sports Southwest. He also was instrumental in forging a partnership with SWBC (Southwest Business Corporation) for the naming rights to the basketball court at Cedar Park Center, the home of the Austin Spurs, in Cedar Park, Texas.

Last season, the Spurs saw a 35 percent increase in attendance, averaging 3,155 fans per game, up from 2,347 average fans for the previous season. Further demonstrating the team’s support throughout the Austin area, the Spurs are currently on pace for record season ticket sales for the 2015-16 season, with a 66 percent increase compared to this time last year.

Under Sailer’s leadership this past season, Austin made its eighth postseason appearance in the last 13 years and captured the Southwest Division title before advancing to the Western Conference Finals. Throughout the season, numerous players including Bryce Cotton (Second Team All NBA D-League, First Team All-NBA D-League Rookie), Jonathan Simmons (Third Team All-Defensive Team), JaMychal Green (Player of the Month for December) and Kyle Anderson (Players of the Month for February) captured some of the league’s top honors.

Previous winners of the Team Executive of the Year award include Jeff Potter (Fort Wayne Mad Ants, 2014), Bill Boyce (Texas Legends, 2013), David Higdon (Bakersfield Jam, 2012), Bert Garcia (Rio Grande Valley Vipers, 2011) and Jon Jennings (Maine Red Claws, 2010).

Related articles