Bakersfield’s Renaldo Major Receives NBA D-League’s Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award

Official Release | April 20, 2015

NEW YORK, April 20, 2015 – Bakersfield Jam forward Renaldo Major has been named the recipient of the 2015 NBA Development League’s Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award, as voted on by the league’s 18 head coaches. The award honors the player who best represents the ideals of character and conduct on and off the court.

An eight-year NBA D-League veteran, Major (6-6, 210, Fresno State) appeared in 47 games for the Jam this season, averaging 8.5 points and 2.3 rebounds in 23.6 minutes. Major used his veteran leadership to fuel the Jam’s playoff push in March, appearing in 11 games, eight as a starter, and averaging 15.8 points and 5.2 rebounds during the month, when the team went 7-4.

Off the court, Major played an integral role in Jam events throughout the Bakersfield community. During the holidays, Major worked on a Thanksgiving food basket giveaway and visited the Bakersfield Memorial Hospital/Ronald McDonald House to bring cheer to patients and families. Additionally, Major spent time visiting students at Bakersfield’s Standard Middle School throughout the Jam’s season.

“Renaldo has been a member of the NBA D-League family for eight seasons and he has never wavered from what he is at his core – a tremendous athlete, a selfless teammate, and a consummate professional,” said Malcolm Turner, NBA D-League President. “Renaldo doesn’t have to try to be an upstanding member of the cities he plays in, it’s in his nature to give back to those communities. I speak on behalf of the NBA D-League when I thank him for demonstrating what it means to be a true sportsman and congratulate him on this well-deserved award.”

A 2007 NBA D-League All-Star, Major is the NBA D-League’s all-time leading scorer (4,650 career points) and all-time steals leader (456), and ranks fifth all-time with 1,494 career rebounds. He played the first four years of his career with the Dakota Wizards, during which time he earned a GATORADE Call-Up to the Golden State Warriors. He joined the Jam prior to the 2011-12 season.

MORE: Renaldo Major Becomes All-Time Leading Scorer | Career in Photos

“Since his arrival in Bakersfield, Renaldo has been a true ambassador for our team and he is extremely deserving of this award,” said Jam owner Stan Ellis. “He is a role model in our community and to his teammates.”

The name of the Sportsmanship Award was changed in 2006 to honor former NBA D-League, Houston Rockets and Atlanta Hawks center Jason Collier, who passed away suddenly on Oct. 15, 2005. Collier was a 2003-04 All-NBA D-League First Team selection as a member of the Fayetteville Patriots, but more importantly, he was a player and person who exemplified the qualities of a faithful teammate, husband, father, son, brother and friend. He was ready to begin his sixth NBA season at the time of his death.

All-Time Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award Winners:
2014-15: Renaldo Major (Bakersfield Jam)
2013-14: Ron Howard (Fort Wayne Mad Ants)
2012-13: Ron Howard (Fort Wayne Mad Ants)
2011-12: Moses Ehambe (Iowa Energy)
2010-11: Larry Owens (Tulsa 66ers)
2009-10: Andre Ingram (Utah Flash)
2008-09: Will Conroy (Albuquerque Thunderbirds)
2007-08: Billy Thomas (Colorado 14ers)
2007-08: Roger Powell (Arkansas RimRockers)
2006-07: Ime Udoka (Fort Worth Flyers)

Related articles