C.J. Williams Earns 2017-18 NBA G League Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award

Official Release | April 11, 2018

NEW YORK, April 11, 2018 – Agua Caliente Clippers of Ontario guard C.J. Williams has earned the 2017-18 NBA G League Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award, as voted on by his fellow Sportsmanship Award nominees.  The award honors the player who best represents the ideals of character and conduct on and off the court.

Off the court, Williams, 28, was a prominent figure in the Clippers’ community events.  He participated in a Thanksgiving meal giveaway for 75 local families at the Sova Food Security Center in Ontario.  During the NBA G League’s Season of Giving initiative, Williams and his teammates opened refurbished basketball courts and coached a basketball clinic for children at De Anza Park in Ontario.

On the court, Williams (6-5, 230, North Carolina State) averaged 16.5 points, 3.9 assists and 2.7 rebounds in 16 games.  He scored a season-high 36 points and added seven rebounds and four assists in a 117-105 victory over the Iowa Wolves on March 24.

As a two-way player, Williams split time this season between the Agua Caliente Clippers of Ontario and their NBA parent club, the LA Clippers.  On April 9, LA signed him to a multiyear contract.  In 37 NBA games (18 starts) this season, Williams has averaged 5.4 points, 1.5 rebounds and 1.1 assists in 18.3 minutes.

The Sportsmanship Award honors former NBA G League, Houston Rockets and Atlanta Hawks center Jason Collier, who passed away suddenly on Oct. 15, 2005.  Collier, a 2003-04 All-NBA G League First Team selection as a member of the Fayetteville Patriots, was a player and person who exemplified the qualities of a faithful teammate, husband, father, son, brother and friend.  He was preparing to begin his sixth NBA season at the time of his death.

Guard Damion Lee, who played with the Santa Cruz Warriors before signing with the Atlanta Hawks, and guard Naz Mitrou-Long of the Salt Lake City Stars finished second and third, respectively, in Sportsmanship Award voting.  Each NBA G League team nominated one player for the honor.

Williams will be presented with the award tonight before the LA Clippers face the Los Angeles Lakers at Staples Center.

All-Time Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award Winners

2017-18: C.J. Williams (Agua Caliente Clippers)
2016-17: Keith Wright (Westchester Knicks)
2015-16: Scott Suggs (Raptors 905)
2014-15: Renaldo Major (Bakersfield Jam)
2013-14: Ron Howard (Fort Wayne Mad Ants)
2012-13: Ron Howard (Fort Wayne Mad Ants)
2011-12: Moses Ehambe (Iowa Energy)
2010-11: Larry Owens (Tulsa 66ers)
2009-10: Andre Ingram (Utah Flash)
2008-09: Will Conroy (Albuquerque Thunderbirds)
2007-08: Billy Thomas (Colorado 14ers)
2007-08: Roger Powell (Arkansas RimRockers)
2006-07: Ime Udoka (Fort Worth Flyers)

Related articles

Download The G League Mobile App

Get extensive video coverage including highlights, interviews and behind-the-scenes access.