Canton’s Quinn Cook Named 2015-16 NBA Development League Rookie Of The Year

Official Release | April 11, 2016

NEW YORK, April 11, 2016 – Canton Charge point guard Quinn Cook today was named the 2015-16 NBA Development League Rookie of the Year.  The award, voted on by the league’s 19 head coaches, recognizes the first-year professional who most significantly contributed to his team’s success during the season.

Cook (6-2, 179, Duke) led the Charge to a 31-19 season by averaging team highs of 19.6 points and 5.4 assists to go with 3.9 rebounds in 43 games (37 starts).  He shot 47 percent from the field and connected on a team-high 86 three-pointers.

A 2016 NBA D-League All-Star, Cook led Canton in scoring 19 times and assists 21 times.  He scored in double figures 40 times, including four games with at least 30 points, and helped the Charge secure the Eastern Conference’s third seed in the 2016 NBA D-League Playoffs.

Undrafted in 2015 after a four-year career at Duke, Cook was a member of the Blue Devils’ NCAA Championship team during his senior season in 2014-15.

Cook will be presented with the Rookie of the Year trophy tomorrow night before the Charge hosts the top-seeded Sioux Falls Skyforce in Game 1 of the Eastern Conference Finals live on ESPNU.  Tip-off is set for 7 p.m. ET.

All-Time NBA D-League Rookie of the Year winners:
2014-15: Tim Frazier, Maine Red Claws
2013-14: Robert Covington, Rio Grande Valley Vipers
2012-13: Tony Mitchell, Fort Wayne Mad Ants
2011-12: Edwin Ubiles, Dakota Wizards
2010-11: DeShawn Sims, Maine Red Claws
2009-10: Alonzo Gee, Austin Toros
2008-09: Othyus Jeffers, Iowa Energy
2007-08: Blake Ahearn, Dakota Wizards
2006-07: Louis Amundson, Colorado 14ers
2005-06: Will Bynum, Roanoke Dazzle
2004-05: James Thomas, Roanoke Dazzle
2003-04: Desmond Penigar, Asheville Altitude
2002-03: Devin Brown, Fayetteville Patriots
2001-02: Fred House, Charleston Lowgators

Related articles