Skyforce’s Dan Craig Named 2015-16 NBA Development League Coach of the Year

Official Release | April 15, 2016

NEW YORK, April 15, 2016 – Dan Craig of the Sioux Falls Skyforce today was named the NBA Development League Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year in a vote by his fellow NBA D-League head coaches.

Craig led the Skyforce to a 40-10 regular-season record, the best mark in league history.  Sioux Falls had 10-game (Dec. 18 – Jan. 12) and nine-game (March 4-25) winning streaks, and won 11 of its last 13 games to secure the NBA D-League Central Division title.  The team also went a league-best 22-3 at home.

Under Craig, who was the NBA D-League Coach of the Month for December, January and March/April, the Skyforce held opponents to a league-low 98.1 points per game and shot a league-best 49.3 percent from the floor.  Forward Jarnell Stokes earned NBA D-League Most Valuable Player honors, forward DeAndre Liggins won his second NBA D-League Defensive Player of the Year award and guard Briante Weber earned GATORADE Call-Ups to the Memphis Grizzlies and Miami Heat.

A first-year head coach in Sioux Falls, Craig joined the Skyforce following 12 seasons with the Heat, the team’s NBA parent club.  Craig served as head coach of Miami’s NBA Summer League team for the past three years and was the Heat’s assistant coach/director of player development during the 2014-15 season.

The NBA D-League Coach of the Year award is named for the late Hall of Famer Dennis Johnson, a star NBA guard and NBA D-League coach.  During his playing career with the Boston Celtics, Phoenix Suns and Seattle SuperSonics, Johnson won three NBA titles, played in five NBA All-Star Games and was named to the All-Defensive First Team six times.  He was in his third season coaching in the NBA D-League when he passed away in 2007.

Craig will receive the Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year trophy prior to the Skyforce’s Eastern Conference Finals game against the Canton Charge on Sunday, April 17.  Tip-off is set for 6 p.m. ET on ESPNU.

All-Time Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year Award Recipients:
2014-15: Scott Morrison, Maine Red Claws
2013-14: Conner Henry, Fort Wane Mad Ants
2012-13: Alex Jensen, Canton Charge
2011-12: Eric Musselman, L.A. D-Fenders
2010-11: Nick Nurse, Iowa Energy
2009-10: Chris Finch, Rio Grande Valley Vipers
2008-09: Quin Snyder, Austin Toros
2007-08: Bryan Gates, Idaho Stampede
2006-07: Bryan Gates, Idaho Stampede

Related articles