Lakeland’s Gabe York Receives 2018-19 NBA G League Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award

Official Release | March 28, 2019

NEW YORK, March 28, 2019 – Lakeland Magic guard Gabe York has received the 2018-19 NBA G League Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award, as voted on by all NBA G League players.  The award honors the player who best represents the ideals of character and conduct on the court and in the community.

York played an integral role in the Magic’s community events during the season.  As part of his efforts, he helped build a home for a family in need and visited elementary school students throughout Polk County, Fla.

In his second season in the NBA G League, York (6-3, 190, Arizona) averaged 16.4 points, 3.1 rebounds and 3.1 assists in 41 games.  He scored in double figures 34 times, including a season-high 34 points against the Erie BayHawks on Dec. 28.

York spent last season with the German club Medi Bayreuth, where he averaged a team-high 14.2 points in 37 games.  He played the 2016-17 season with the BayHawks and then helped the Los Angeles Lakers win the 2017 MGM Resorts NBA Summer League championship.  York had a four-year collegiate career at the University of Arizona, where he teamed with current Orlando Magic player Aaron Gordon.

The Sportsmanship Award honors former NBA G League, Houston Rockets and Atlanta Hawks center Jason Collier, who passed away suddenly on Oct. 15, 2005.  Collier, a 2003-04 All-NBA G League First Team selection as a member of the Fayetteville Patriots, was a player and person who exemplified the qualities of a faithful teammate, husband, father, son, brother and friend.  He was preparing to begin his sixth NBA season at the time of his death.

Each NBA G League team nominated one player for the Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award.  Erie’s Jordan Sibert, who earned a GATORADE Call-Up to the Atlanta Hawks, finished second.  The South Bay Lakers’ Andre Ingram and the Austin Spurs’ Jordan Green tied for third.

York will be presented with the award tomorrow before Lakeland hosts the Westchester Knicks in the Eastern Conference Semifinals at RP Funding Center (7 p.m. ET, Twitch).

Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award Winners

2018-19: Gabe York (Lakeland Magic)

2017-18: C.J. Williams (Agua Caliente Clippers)

2016-17: Keith Wright (Westchester Knicks)

2015-16: Scott Suggs (Raptors 905)

2014-15: Renaldo Major (Bakersfield Jam)

2013-14: Ron Howard (Fort Wayne Mad Ants)

2012-13: Ron Howard (Fort Wayne Mad Ants)

2011-12: Moses Ehambe (Iowa Energy)

2010-11: Larry Owens (Tulsa 66ers)

2009-10: Andre Ingram (Utah Flash)

2008-09: Will Conroy (Albuquerque Thunderbirds)

2007-08: Billy Thomas (Colorado 14ers)

2007-08: Roger Powell (Arkansas RimRockers)

2006-07: Ime Udoka (Fort Worth Flyers)

About the NBA G League

The NBA’s official minor league, the NBA G League prepares players, coaches, officials, trainers and front-office staff for the NBA while acting as the league’s research and development laboratory.  Featuring 27 teams with direct affiliations with NBA franchises for the 2018-19 season, the league offers elite professional basketball at an affordable price in a fun, family-friendly atmosphere.  An all-time-high 53 percent of all NBA players at the end of the 2017-18 season boasted NBA G League experience.  In fostering the league’s connection to the community, its teams, players and staff promote health and wellness, support local needs and interests, and assist in educational development through NBA Cares programs.  NBA G League games are available on ESPN’s family of networks, NBA TV and Twitch.

Related articles

Download The G League Mobile App

Get extensive video coverage including highlights, interviews and behind-the-scenes access.