NBA D-League Announces Experimental Rules Changes for 2016-17 Season

Official Release | October 25, 2016

NEW YORK, Oct. 25, 2016 – The NBA Development League today announced experimental rules changes for the 2016-17 season:

  • Each team will be entitled to a “Reset Timeout” in the final two minutes of the fourth quarter and final two minutes of any overtime period.  “Reset Timeouts” do not allow teams to huddle, but otherwise mirror standard timeouts, allowing teams to advance the ball (when applicable) and make unlimited substitutions.  If either team huddles or prevents the ball from immediately being put back into play, it will result in a delay of game being issued to the offending team.  The “Reset Timeout” replaces the “Advance Rule” which had been used in the NBA D-League the past two seasons.
  • The 24-second clock will reset to 14 seconds after an offensive rebound or when the offensive team otherwise is the first team to retain possession after the ball contacts the rim.
  • A 75-second limit on the duration of instant replay reviews has been implemented, except in circumstances where the review is for a hostile act or altercation, could lead to an ejection, there is a technical equipment problem or other atypical circumstances.

The NBA D-League continues to serve as a research and development resource for the NBA, testing rules, equipment and technological advancements.  For the third consecutive season, the league will play with the innovative coach’s challenge, which allows coaches to dispute either called personal fouls charged to their own team or any play that is currently an NBA D-League replay trigger, other than flopping.  Each team is awarded one challenge in the fourth quarter and each overtime period.

The 2016-17 NBA D-League season tips off on Nov. 11 with an all-time high 22 teams competing in a 50-game regular season.

Related articles