NBA G League Announces Experimental Referee Testing And Rules Changes For 2017-18 Season

NEW YORK, Oct. 4, 2017 The NBA G League announced today that four-person officiating crews will be used during the entire 2017 preseason and for all regular-season games in November.  The testing follows similar experimentation last season, when nine regular-season games were officiated by either four- or five-person crews.

The league also announced a new four-round, 12-team playoff format.  The team with the best regular-season record in each division automatically qualifies for the postseason as one of six “division winners.”  The additional six playoff berths will be filled by the three “wild card” teams in each conference with the best regular-season records, other than the division winners.

The conferences will be seeded one through six, with the division winners owning the first, second and third seeds and the wild card teams occupying the fourth, fifth and sixth seeds based on regular-season records.  The top two seeds in each conference will earn a bye into the second round.  The playoffs will begin with three single-elimination rounds before culminating with a best-of-three NBA G League Finals, which will be played in a one-one-one format.

In addition, the NBA G League announced experimental rules changes aimed to improve game flow for the 2017-18 season:

The NBA G League will continue to play with rules changes already in effect:

Two prior experimental rules will be discontinued and standard NBA rules will be resumed in both instances.  In the first change, technical fouls for flopping infractions will no longer be assessed in-game, and a postgame warning-and-fine policy similar to that of the NBA’s will be implemented.  In addition, the team penalty foul limit will be reduced from six to five fouls in a quarter before a penalty.

The 2017-18 NBA G League season tips off on Nov. 3 with an all-time-high 26 teams competing in a 50-game regular season.