Sioux Falls Skyforce’s Gabe Vincent Named 2019-20 NBA G League Most Improved Player

Official Release | June 22, 2020

Sioux Falls Skyforce guard Gabe Vincent has been named the 2019-20 NBA G League Most Improved Player, the NBA G League announced today.  He earned the honor in a vote by the league’s 28 head coaches and general managers.

In his second NBA G League season, Vincent (6-3, 200, UC Santa Barbara) averaged 20.9 points, 3.1 rebounds and 2.3 assists in 31 games.  He made an NBA G League-high 4.2 three-pointers per game and shot 40.3 percent from three-point range.

Vincent played his first 20 games of the NBA G League season with the Stockton Kings and his final 11 games with the Skyforce, the NBA G League affiliate of the Miami Heat, which signed him to a two-way contract on Jan. 8.  He has appeared in six NBA games for Miami this season.

In the NBA G League, Vincent scored at least 30 points six times this season.  Three of those performances came in December, when he averaged 24.9 points and shot 49.1 percent from the field with Stockton.  He scored a career-high 35 points against the South Bay Lakers on Dec. 17 and matched that total against the Canton Charge on Dec. 21, making nine three-pointers in each game.

The Skyforce started the season 10-13 before adding Vincent to its roster.  Sioux Falls went 9-2 with him in the lineup and finished 22-20 overall.  The NBA G League canceled the remainder of its 2019-20 season on June 4.  The regular season was suspended on March 12 and had been scheduled to conclude on March 28.

Vincent spent the entire 2018-19 NBA G League season with Stockton.  He averaged 8.8 points, 2.3 rebounds and 2.6 assists in 24 games.

Raptors 905 guard Paul Watson and Santa Cruz Warriors guard Mychal Mulder finished second and third, respectively, in voting for the 2019-20 NBA G League Most Improved Player Award.

All-Time NBA G League Most Improved Player Award Winners:

2019-20: Gabe Vincent (Sioux Falls Skyforce)

2018-19: Michael Frazier (Rio Grande Valley Vipers)

2017-18: DeQuan Jones (Fort Wayne Mad Ants)

2016-17: Devondrick Walker (Delaware 87ers)

2015-16: Axel Toupane (Raptors 905)

2014-15: Joe Jackson (Bakersfield Jam)

2013-14: Frank Gaines (Maine Red Claws)

2012-13: Cameron Jones (Santa Cruz Warriors)

2011-12: Kenny Hayes (Maine Red Claws)

2010-11: Dar Tucker (New Mexico Thunderbirds)

2009-10: Mildon Ambres (Idaho Stampede)

Related articles