South Bay Lakers’ Andre Ingram Wins 2021-22 Kia NBA G League Sportsmanship Award

Official Release | April 10, 2022

NEW YORK, April 10, 2022 – South Bay Lakers guard Andre Ingram has been selected by his fellow NBA G League Players as the winner of the 2021-22 Kia NBA G League Sportsmanship Award, which honors the player who best represents the ideals of character and conduct as a teammate on the court and in the locker room.  Ingram becomes the second two-time winner in NBA G League history, having previously received the award for the 2009-10 season.

The Kia NBA G League Sportsmanship Award trophy is named after the late Jason Collier, who exemplified the qualities of a great teammate during his career in the NBA G League and the NBA.  A 2003-04 All-NBA G League First Team selection, Collier was preparing to begin his sixth NBA season at the time of his death in 2005.

Ingram, who just completed his 13th NBA G League season, is a fixture atop the NBA G League record books, ranking first all-time in games played (474) and minutes (11,699), third in points (4,533) and fourth in field goals made (1,515) and attempted (3,312).  He also holds the all-time NBA G League records for most three-pointers made (845) and attempted (1881), while sitting in fifth place all-time in three-point percentage (44.9).  Ingram, who owns career NBA G League averages of 9.6 points and 2.9 rebounds, appeared in six career NBA games for the Los Angeles Lakers during the 2017-18 and 2018-19 seasons.

Each NBA G League team nominated one player for the 2021-22 Kia NBA G League Sportsmanship Award.  NBA G League players voted for the winner from the list of nominees.  Maine Celtics guard Eric Demers and Cleveland Charge guard Mitch Ballock finished in second and third place, respectively.

Kia NBA G League Sportsmanship Award Winners

2021-22: Andre Ingram (South Bay Lakers)

2020-21: Galen Robinson Jr. (Austin Spurs)

2019-20: Ivan Rabb (Westchester Knicks)

2018-19: Gabe York (Lakeland Magic)

2017-18: C.J. Williams (Agua Caliente Clippers)

2016-17: Keith Wright (Westchester Knicks)

2015-16: Scott Suggs (Raptors 905)

2014-15: Renaldo Major (Bakersfield Jam)

2013-14: Ron Howard (Fort Wayne Mad Ants)

2012-13: Ron Howard (Fort Wayne Mad Ants)

2011-12: Moses Ehambe (Iowa Energy)

2010-11: Larry Owens (Tulsa 66ers)

2009-10: Andre Ingram (Utah Flash)

2008-09: Will Conroy (Albuquerque Thunderbirds)

2007-08: Billy Thomas (Colorado 14ers)

2007-08: Roger Powell (Arkansas RimRockers)

2006-07: Ime Udoka (Fort Worth Flyers)

Related articles