Westchester Knicks’ Ivan Rabb Receives 2019-20 NBA G League Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award

Official Release | June 23, 2020

Westchester Knicks forward Ivan Rabb has received the 2019-20 NBA G League Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award, as voted on by all NBA G League players. The award honors the player who best represents the ideals of character and conduct on the court and in the community.

Rabb was an integral member of the Westchester community throughout the season. As part of his efforts, he helped unload 1,000 turkeys to Feeding Westchester in conjunction with Stop & Shop’s annual Turkey Express program.

In his third season in the NBA G League, Rabb (6-10, 220, California) averaged 16.5 points and an NBA G League-high 12.1 rebounds in 29 games. He finished the season with three consecutive double-doubles and recorded a single-game franchise record 24 rebounds in a 115-104 loss to the Wisconsin Herd on March 6. On Feb. 29, Rabb posted 32 points, 12 rebounds and six steals in a 129-115 victory over the Greensboro Swarm.

Rabb, who signed a two-way contract with the New York Knicks last October, appeared in 18 games for Westchester before being waived on Jan. 13. He re-joined the Knicks’ NBA G League affiliate on Jan. 23 and finished out the season.

Rabb joined the Knicks after spending the previous two seasons with the Memphis Grizzlies. He was selected by the Orlando Magic with the 34th pick in NBA Draft 2017 presented by State Farm and traded to Memphis. Rabb was a two-time All-Pac-12 selection in two seasons at the University of California.

In his NBA career, Rabb has averaged 5.7 points and 4.3 rebounds in 85 games with the Grizzlies. He did not appear in an NBA game with the Knicks this season. He holds career averages of 17.0 points and 10.8 rebounds in 54 NBA G League games with Westchester and the Memphis Hustle.

The Sportsmanship Award honors former NBA G League, Houston Rockets and Atlanta Hawks center Jason Collier, who passed away suddenly on Oct. 15, 2005. Collier, a 2003-04 All-NBA G League First Team selection as a member of the Fayetteville Patriots, was a player and person who exemplified the qualities of a faithful teammate, husband, father, son, brother and friend. He was preparing to begin his sixth NBA season at the time of his death.

Each NBA G League team nominated one player for the Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award, which is voted on by all NBA G League players. Canton Charge guard Levi Randolph, who signed a two-way contract with the Cleveland Cavaliers in January, finished second. Long Island Nets guard Devin Cannady finished third.

Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award Winners

2019-20: Ivan Rabb (Westchester Knicks)

2018-19: Gabe York (Lakeland Magic)

2017-18: C.J. Williams (Agua Caliente Clippers)

2016-17: Keith Wright (Westchester Knicks)

2015-16: Scott Suggs (Raptors 905)

2014-15: Renaldo Major (Bakersfield Jam)

2013-14: Ron Howard (Fort Wayne Mad Ants)

2012-13: Ron Howard (Fort Wayne Mad Ants)

2011-12: Moses Ehambe (Iowa Energy)

2010-11: Larry Owens (Tulsa 66ers)

2009-10: Andre Ingram (Utah Flash)

2008-09: Will Conroy (Albuquerque Thunderbirds)

2007-08: Billy Thomas (Colorado 14ers)

2007-08: Roger Powell (Arkansas RimRockers)

2006-07: Ime Udoka (Fort Worth Flyers)

Related articles