Westchester’s Mike Miller Named 2017-18 NBA G League Coach of the Year

Official Release | April 2, 2018

NEW YORK, April 2, 2018 – Mike Miller of the Westchester Knicks today was named the 2017-18 NBA G League Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year in a vote by NBA G League head coaches and general managers.

Miller guided the Knicks (32-18) to a franchise-record 32 victories as Westchester finished with the best record in the Eastern Conference and earned the Atlantic Division title for the first time in franchise history. Westchester won nine of its first 10 road games en route to an NBA G League-best 19-6 road record.

In his third season as the team’s head coach, Miller led the Knicks to a 13-win improvement from 2016-17 (19-31).  Westchester ranked second in the NBA G League in both net rating (4.5) and three-point field goal percentage (38.7) and was third in defensive rating (102.1).

Under Miller’s guidance, Westchester produced a team-record five GATORADE Call-Ups – Trey Burke to the New York Knicks, Nigel Hayes to the Los Angeles Lakers, Toronto Raptors and Sacramento Kings, and Xavier Rathan-Mayes to the Memphis Grizzlies.

Miller joined the Knicks in 2015 after spending the previous two seasons as an assistant coach with the Austin Spurs, the NBA G League affiliate of the San Antonio Spurs.  He also spent 20 years as an NCAA coach, including head coaching roles with Eastern Illinois and Texas State.

The NBA G League Coach of the Year award is named for the late Hall of Famer Dennis Johnson, a star NBA guard and NBA G League coach.  During his playing career with the Boston Celtics, Phoenix Suns and Seattle SuperSonics, Johnson won three NBA titles, played in five NBA All-Star Games and was named to the All-Defensive First Team six times.  He was in his third season coaching in the NBA G League when he passed away in 2007.

Miller will be presented with the award tonight before Westchester hosts Raptors 905 in the Eastern Conference Semifinals at the Westchester County Center (7 p.m. ET, NBA TV).

Austin’s Blake Ahearn and the Erie BayHawks’ Josh Longstaff finished second and third, respectively, in voting for the 2017-18 NBA G League Coach of the Year award.

All-Time Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year Award Recipients

2017-18: Mike Miller, Westchester Knicks

2016-17: Jerry Stackhouse, Raptors 905

2015-16: Dan Craig, Sioux Falls Skyforce

2014-15: Scott Morrison, Maine Red Claws

2013-14: Conner Henry, Fort Wane Mad Ants

2012-13: Alex Jensen, Canton Charge

2011-12: Eric Musselman, Los Angeles D-Fenders

2010-11: Nick Nurse, Iowa Energy

2009-10: Chris Finch, Rio Grande Valley Vipers

2008-09: Quin Snyder, Austin Toros

2007-08: Bryan Gates, Idaho Stampede

2006-07: Bryan Gates, Idaho Stampede

Related articles