South Bay Lakers’ Mac McClung Named 2021-22 Kia NBA G League Rookie Of The Year

Official Release | April 9, 2022

NEW YORK, April 9, 2022 – South Bay Lakers guard Mac McClung has been named the 2021-22 Kia NBA G League Rookie of the Year, the NBA G League announced today.  The award, voted on by the league’s head coaches and general managers, recognizes the first-year professional who most significantly contributed to his team’s success during the regular season.

McClung (6-2, 185, Texas Tech) averaged 21.7 points, 7.6 assists, 6.6 rebounds and 1.4 steals in 27 regular-season games.  He ranked fifth in the NBA G League in assists and ninth in free throw percentage (88.5).

On Feb. 3, McClung recorded 29 points, 11 assists and 11 rebounds against the Salt Lake City Stars to become the first South Bay player to record a triple-double since 2018.  He also scored a career-high 37 points against the Santa Cruz Warriors on Feb. 6.

McClung is South Bay’s first NBA G League Rookie of the Year honoree.  Behind the 23-year-old McClung, the Lakers went 21-11 and secured the No. 3 seed in the NBA G League Playoffs presented by Google Pixel.

McClung, who was not selected in the 2021 NBA Draft, played with the Los Angeles Lakers at the 2021 NBA Summer League.  He was one of six South Bay players to earn a GATORADE Call-Up this season, signing two 10-day contracts with the Chicago Bulls.  McClung appeared in one game with the Bulls.  On April 9, McClung earned his third GATORADE Call-Up of the season, signing a two-way deal with the Los Angeles Lakers.

Long Island Nets guard Craig Randall II and Texas Legends guard Carlik Jones finished second and third, respectively, in the voting for the 2021-22 Kia NBA G League Rookie of the Year Award.

Kia NBA G League Rookie of the Year Award Winners

2021-22: Mac McClung, South Bay Lakers

2020-21: Paul Reed, Delaware Blue Coats

2019-20: Tremont Waters, Maine Red Claws

2018-19: Angel Delgado, Aqua Caliente Clippers

2017-18: Antonio Blakeney, Windy City Bulls

2016-17: Abdel Nader, Maine Red Claws

2015-16: Quinn Cook, Canton Charge

2014-15: Tim Frazier, Maine Red Claws

2013-14: Robert Covington, Rio Grande Valley Vipers

2012-13: Tony Mitchell, Fort Wayne Mad Ants

2011-12: Edwin Ubiles, Dakota Wizards

2010-11: DeShawn Sims, Maine Red Claws

2009-10: Alonzo Gee, Austin Toros

2008-09: Othyus Jeffers, Iowa Energy

2007-08: Blake Ahearn, Dakota Wizards

2006-07: Louis Amundson, Colorado 14ers

2005-06: Will Bynum, Roanoke Dazzle

2004-05: James Thomas, Roanoke Dazzle

2003-04: Desmond Penigar, Asheville Altitude

2002-03: Devin Brown, Fayetteville Patriots

2001-02: Fred House, Charleston Lowgators

Related articles