Skip to Main Content

Lakeland Magic Head Coach Stan Heath Named 2020-21 NBA G League Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year

By NBA G League Staff /March 17, 2021

NEW YORK, March 17, 2021 – Lakeland Magic head coach Stan Heath has been named the 2020-21 NBA G League Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year, the NBA G League announced today. Heath earned the honor in a vote by NBA G League head coaches and general managers whose teams participated in single-site play at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex at Walt Disney World Resort near Orlando, Fla. In his fourth season as head coach of the Orlando Magic’s NBA G League affiliate, Heath guided Lakeland to a regular-season record of 9-6 (.600), including five victories in its final six games. The 5-1 finish earned Lakeland the sixth seed in the NBA G League Playoffs, where it went on to win the franchise’s first NBA G League championship. The Magic sparkled on defense under Heath, leading the NBA G League in points allowed (101.5) and defensive rating (101.0). Lakeland also held opponents to the lowest field goal percentage (42.5) and three-point field goal percentage (29.1). Hired in 2017 as Lakeland’s first head coach, Heath has led the Magic to a record of 94-63 (.599) in four seasons. Lakeland has posted a winning record each season under Heath, including a franchise-best 32-18 (.640) in 2018-19. The NBA G League Coach of the Year Award is named for the late Hall of Famer Dennis Johnson, a star NBA guard and NBA G League head coach. During his playing career with the Boston Celtics, Phoenix Suns and Seattle SuperSonics, Johnson won three NBA championships, earned five NBA All-Star selections and was named to the NBA All-Defensive First Team six times. He was in his third season coaching in the NBA G League when he passed away in 2007. Santa Cruz Warriors head coach Kris Weems and Raptors 905 head coach Patrick Mutombo finished in second and third place, respectively, in voting for the 2020-21 NBA G League Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year Award. NBA G League Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year Award Winners 2020-21: Stan Heath, Lakeland Magic 2019-20: Martin Schiller, Salt Lake City Stars 2018-19: Will Weaver, Long Island Nets 2017-18: Mike Miller, Westchester Knicks 2016-17: Jerry Stackhouse, Raptors 905 2015-16: Dan Craig, Sioux Falls Skyforce 2014-15: Scott Morrison, Maine Red Claws 2013-14: Conner Henry, Fort Wane Mad Ants 2012-13: Alex Jensen, Canton Charge 2011-12: Eric Musselman, Los Angeles D-Fenders 2010-11: Nick Nurse, Iowa Energy 2009-10: Chris Finch, Rio Grande Valley Vipers 2008-09: Quin Snyder, Austin Toros 2007-08: Bryan Gates, Idaho Stampede 2006-07: Bryan Gates, Idaho Stampede